Living in Alignment with your Goals and Values…….are you really doing that shit?

by: Dominique Wilson

 

Image

 

For 6 months in 2012 and the beginning of 2013, I worked as a Financial Advisor for an awesome company named NestWise. Even though I didn’t stay there long because the company eventually went out of business, I learned so many things about myself and people during my time there. Also, being with that company made me grow out of my comfort zone tremendously because I was embarking on a career path that I’ve never tapped into. When I was first hired as a new advisor the Vice President gave me a deck of cards that had all these different values written on each card. Examples of what was written on each card were words like: Family, Love, Money, Financial Security, Charity, Freedom, Happiness, etc. He told us to narrow what we value most down to five cards; this exercise was a little hard to me and my colleagues because we felt like all the cards were a value of ours. At the end of the exercise, my VP explained to us that we need to live in alignment on an everyday basis to what we value the most and whatever it is we want most from life. I’ll never forget that exercise we did in the conference room that day and I’ve been trying to keep that as the forefront of my life ever since.

This morning I was having a conversation with a friend of mine I’ve known for the past 6 years and after we hung up I realized I’m going to delete his number and never pick up his calls again. I’m at a point in my life where I only want to surround myself with people that are on the same page as I am as far as wanting to take my life to another level. I really don’t have time for people that say one thing but do another. How can you say you want success but you in the clubs every night? What exactly are you celebrating if you can’t even afford to buy a drink in the club you are partying in? How can you say you’re looking for a wife but in the same breath say you don’t have time to date? I’m guessing a genie will cross their arms, blink twice and a wife will appear in front of you. Yup that’s it!! I’m sure he’s not the only person that wants one thing out of life but is doing the total opposite or nothing at all to get it. I see and hear many people that think their living in alignment with their goals but actually are far from it. I’m not the perfect angel but the first step in living in alignment with your values and goals is taking a step back and doing some self-evaluation. Once that step has been taken, you can then start to live within your truth and take the necessary steps towards living in alignment with everything you value most.

Leave a Reply

